Welcome to the book challenge! 30 briefs-Only respond with books you have read. A task so mighty it has been split into three posts. Third and final part tomorrow. If you are a bookworm, I invite you to take up the challenge yourself. What would you choose? We did the first 10 briefs yesterday, lets see what today’s brings.

Brief 11: A literary character you want to have dinner/drinks with

CHOICE: JAY GATSBY FROM THE GREAT GATSBY BY F SCOTT FITZGERALD

Okay, I don’t really need to explain this one do I? If you have read The Great Gatsby then you will instantly understand my choice.

As soon as Jay Gatsby appears, you are drawn to him. His charisma, mystery pulls you in. You already know he’s handsome, stylish, and then Nick gets to go to the parties. To be at just one of Jay Gatsby’s parties would be the best night of your life. The decadence, the glamour, the clothes of the 1920s, beautiful people within a magical atmosphere. What could be better?

Brief 12: A popular book you hate

CHOICE: WOLF HALL BY HILARY MANTEL

I have a soft spot for history, and I love historical fiction, fascinated by Henry VIII. I was so ready to LOVE this book. I was ready to absorbed within the Tudor times, and at the beginning the story surrounding the life and times of Thomas Cromwell was okay. But it got worse. I hate her writing.

A group of 5 or 6 men enter a garden room.

Enter a page of dialogue similar to the following (my thoughts in brackets):

“Blah” (who said this? Who started speaking?)

“Blah de blah” (sorry, who’s this now?)

“blah” (there’s five guys here, no descriptions, who is this?)

“Blah blah” he said (he who? They are all men!)

“Blah” (this is ridiculous! who’s talking now!?!)

“Blah” he said. (who’s he? use a name! I’m gonna have to read it again!)

You can see my problem. I did read it again, five times. The same pages trying to sense any type of rhythm. There was no indication through name, clothing or anything to signify who in a room of men were talking. It drove me insane! And for this she won the Booker prize. Twice.

Brief 13: A book with a colour in the title

CHOICE: THE RED TENT BY ANITA DIAMANT

Possibly the worst cover in history, but the pages within it are pure gold. It tells the story of Dinah, a character from the bible (which explains the cover). It sounds like a book you would never pick up but it is absolutely brilliant. Forget the bible part (I am a Christian so not against religion, just clarifying for any trolls under the bridge), this is a story of a woman. And to be honest, I buy a copy of this book for every woman I know who is yet to discover it. Mostly because it is women it will speak to (sorry guys). The reason being is because it really goes into the feelings, unity and emotion behind every major female experience in life. Men still enjoy it, my husband read it okay, but they don’t “get” it, it’s hard for men to relate as its very female driven. Which is why women get the most out of it. Its incredible. (By the way, if you are a guy and loved this book, then that is brilliant- and please let me know as I haven’t met a guy who has yet. And I would love to say it appeals to everyone-it is just my personal experience and feedback from others I am basing all this on!)

Brief 14: A fairy tale retelling

CHOICE: FABLES: VOL 1 LEGENDS IN EXILE

We all knew I would get comics into this list somewhere didn’t we? This seemed a bit like a slam dunk to me. What could be more of a fairytale retelling than Fables?

From the Big Bad Wolf as Sheriff, Snow White and her sister Rose, Prince Charming, Jack, and even Goldilocks, their adventures in Fabletown have won numerous awards and are one of the most popular comic titles in all the land.

It has great artwork through out and perfect writing from its creator Bill Willingham. If you haven’t already, check it out. You won’t be disappointed.

Brief 15: A book that makes you cry sad tears

CHOICE: ME BEFORE YOU BY JOJO MOYLES

I tend to read a bit of everything, and enjoy a wide range of styles and exploring different writers. I really enjoyed Me Before you, I fell in love with Louisa and her bumblebee tights and I thought the story of her taking the part time job of Will’s carer; and making it a love story when Will has quadriplegia felt like a fresh angle.

Of course they are complete opposites, but Jojo Moyes’ writing makes Lou instantly likeable and Will interesting enough that you want to know more. Will has decided to end his life and books himself into a clinic in Switzerland, and the book places you inside an impossible situation. The end, is tear jerking and sad but also invites you to think about things you may not have before.

Brief 16: A book you have read more than once

CHOICE: MATILDA BY ROALD DAHL

I have read Matilda so many times. I completely devoured it as a child. A huge Roald Dahl fan, I loved Matilda was a bookworm, hanging out in libraries, I was no longer a nerd but a book heroine. The wonderful Miss Honey, the perfect teacher who helps her. Matilda’s tiny frame and brains vs Miss Trunchbull’s brute strength is the literary equivalent of David vs Goliath.

Roald Dahl wrote villains so well, and he understood kids. To teach the teacher a lesson after being told off, a lifetime’s supply of chocolate, the nasty lady is secretly a witch, he really tapped into their imaginations. And where gruesome is concerned he didn’t hold back. He made the adults as nasty as can be, and the kid is always the one to save the day. He could have the worst beginnings in the world but he would become the hero. Kids can do anything, they just have to believe it.

Brief 17: A book with a person’s name in the title (real/fictional)

CHOICE: MEDEA BY EURIPIDES

As a present for my birthday, I was bought a course on Ancient Greek Theatre. It focused on different plays by the Ancient Greeks. I must admit, I wasn’t familiar with many but that is where I discovered Medea.

Her tale is so shocking, many refuse to utter her name. The plays were very easy to read, which isn’t always the case with ancient text. Out of all the plays we looked, it was her that I remember as it gave me chills.

Medea is a tragedy, she finds out her husband has fallen in love and left her for another woman. To get her revenge she murders her children, to cause him the ultimate pain.

To hate someone enough to kill what matters to you the most just to cause them the highest amount of torture imaginable makes quite an impact. No wonder Medea is so unforgettable.

Brief 18: A book you like by an author no longer living

CHOICE: AGATHA RAISIN &THE QUICHE OF DEATH BY M.C.BEATON

I was in Waterstones and I saw this book and I had to buy it. The title alone sold me. The Quiche of Death. It made me chuckle and I couldn’t wait to read it. That is why my love for Agatha Raisin began.

The covers of the books are all similar so unless you keep a list, you never know which ones you’ve already read. You have to read them in order too as there is a love story running along side as an after thought that has ups and downs.

The thing that makes Agatha so appealing is that she is a city girl who is desperate for the dream of a simple country life but she’s not quite cut out for it. She cuts corners, falls over a lot in posh outfits, drinks, can’t cook and swears quite a bit whilst chain smoking. Take this first book, she can’t cook but wants to win the village fayre quiche competition. So she buys it, passes it off as her own, wins, but her quiche is poisoned and kills someone.

I have read them all, each one in a day as they are quite short. I used to treat myself at Christmas (as a new one would be released every year in December), even wrap it up (surely I am not the only person who gives presents to herself?) and return to Agatha.

Sadly, last Christmas was the last time as M.C. Beaton passed away last December. Agatha and her creator will be missed.

Brief 19: An audiobook you like because of the voice

CHOICE: HARRY POTTER & THE PHILOSOPHERS STONE BY JK ROWLING READ BY STEPHEN FRY

As you may remember from brief 7, I do not know audio books. However I do know that famously Stephen Fry does the Harry Potter ones and he has a nice voice. Perfect for Potter!

Brief 20: A book with an unreliable narrator

CHOICE: GONE GIRL BY GILLIAN FLYNN

To me, this book is perfect for this brief. The story of Amy and Nick’s relationship told from her side and his side show how important viewpoints can be and neither one can be counted on.

Brilliantly done, this book quite rightly became a huge bestseller, inspired copycat covers and an instant fanbase for Gillian Flynn hungry for more. I can’t write too much about it as I don’t want to ruin it for anyone yet to discover the tale. But trust me, it’s worth every second of your time. Just don’t trust anything else!

Well, that’s the second part of the book challenge done. Did you agree? Disagree? Want more? Well, you’re in luck, third and final part is tomorrow. Have a go yourself. I’d love to hear your choices.

Published by geekgirleatscake

I am a Cornish author and nerd who is obsessed with food and the written word in all its glorious forms.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started